Imagine Mr. Tumnus

The first year we moved into this house I began an ambitious clay project.

Illustration by Pauline Baynes, from my 1978 Penguin Books copy of The Lion, the Witch & the Wardrobe by C. S. Lewis
Illustration by Pauline Baynes, from my 1978 Penguin Books copy of The Lion, the Witch & the Wardrobe by C. S. Lewis

In the yard, out our front window there is a light-post under the boughs of a spruce tree. The spot reminded me of one of my favourite childhood novels, The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C. S. Lewis, and of the character of Mr. Tumnus specifically.

He’s been done for some time. He’s definitely dry. I have toyed with the idea of having him fired, but because he’s made of thick slabs of clay joined together I am afraid he contains a bubble that will ruin him in a kiln.

I think I have figured out how to make a mould of him so I can cast a copy for firing.

When I start that I will document my process, but for now here’s a timeline of the birth of my Mr. Tumnus.

I bought myself a box of clay from Plainsman Pottery. This project used the entire box of clay.

I decided that I was not at all confident in my ability to make a free standing Tumnus, so settled on a Tumnus seated on a stump (waiting for Lucy of course).

I made the centre hollow to cut back on the weight so that it would be easier for me to move around as I worked on all sides.

327   2012-11-03-23-25-39  2012-11-03-23-26-05  2013-01-05-23-31-53  2013-01-02-20-17-36  2013-02-09-20-05-38

Mr. Tumnus has been sitting in my art room since the winter of 2012.

Hopefully this winter I manage to get a good mould of him, cast his likeness, fire that casting, and set him out in the yard where I originally envisioned him.

 

 

 

cropped-stilemom.jpg

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

