My little Eden

2014-06-05 19.01.33One of the things that was really high on my list of priorities when my hubby and I went shopping for our first house was a good area for gardening. We were both selling homes of our own, and in my old yard I had a large garden in which I had build some raised beds. I didn’t want to give that up.

2013-05-18 13.52.14The first year we moved in too late and I had to forgo gardening and resign myself to planning on graph paper. The next year my husband went to work – which was cool because I had built my old beds and while they functioned they weren’t exactly showpieces. I knew he’d do a far better job of it.

2014-05-01 12.03.31We measured and I drew out how I imagined the space. I wanted an organic looking area, not straight lines.

The first spring hubby got the big beds up next to the house and the first of the long beds done, and he prepared the yard for the rest. A couple trees had to go and rocks had to be shifted.

2014-05-16 20.58.27To be honest I didn’t think he’d get it done in one season, but I guess one of the best things about a new relationship is finding out that your spouse finds joy in the same things you do. I’m pretty happy. I actually got to plant that year.

strawberry bedThe second spring he got all the beds done plus two more I had decided we had space for. That included a strawberry bed. He also built an overhead bean trellis between two beds and a small trellis for peas. He had it all done in time to plant too.

This spring already I can see my strawberries coming back super strong, and the rhubarb I planted in the straight section next to the strawberries looks great. In the first bed, up against the garage, one of the grapes is leafing out.

grape     rhubarb     strawberries

This year’s project is going to be building cold frames for at least the tomato and pepper beds. My husband hit the hardware store this morning and was out in the garage working on the frames this afternoon. I expect great things.

cropped-stilemom.jpg

Leave a Reply

